Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.
June 18, 2014
by scloonan
Portfolio excerpt, model; work titled, “blurred lines,” Allwork Scholarship recipient Alex Stewart, Parsons the New School Credit: Alex Stewart
Portfolio excerpt, rendering; “Mt. Vincent dormitory,” CFA Design Scholarship recipient, Magdalena Checo, City CollegeCredit: Magdalena Checo
Panorama 2014 issue, “Mend the Gap, ” Haskell Award recipient, UPenn School of City and Regional PlanningCredit: UPenn School of City and Regional Planning

The Center for Architecture Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 CFA Design Scholarship, the Women’s Auxiliary Eleanor Allwork Scholarship, and the Douglas Haskell Award for Student Journals. This year’s field proved extremely competitive. Ultimately the scholarship committee selected six outstanding students.

The CFA Design Scholarship is given on the basis of merit to a student currently enrolled in architecture, engineering, or related design discipline at an accredited institution within New York State. For both awards, students are nominated by the dean or department chair of their schools. Magdalena Checo, who will enter her fifth year of the B. Arch program at City College in the fall, was selected based upon her outstanding portfolio submission demonstrating a range of work from free-hand sketching to model-making. For the first time since the scholarship was created in 2009, one recipient’s course of study lies outside of architecture, in the field of civil engineering. Kyle Sullivan, who recently completed his bachelor’s degree at Columbia University, was selected for his timely project on storm surge analysis in NYC.

The Women’s Auxiliary Eleanor Allwork Scholarship was established by architect Ronald R. Allwork, and is awarded to a student pursuing his/her first degree in architecture at an accredited institution within New York State. The recipients of this year’s Allwork Award are Jeffrey Bermudez, Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture at The City College of New York, and Diego Gonzalez, the Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture at Cooper Union, both pursuing B. Arch degrees; and Angela Lee, Pratt Institute, and Alex Stewart, Parsons The New School, currently enrolled in M. Arch programs.

Panorama, the student-run publication of the University of Pennsylvania Department of City and Regional Planning, was the 2014 recipient of the Haskell Award for Student Journals. Named in honor of the late Douglas Putnam Haskell, architecture critic at The Nation and later editor of Architectural Forum, the award is given annually to a student publication in an effort to foster intelligent criticism within the field of architecture. While not a practicing architect himself, Haskell became an honorary member of the AIA and was later nominated to the College of Fellows.

The Center for Architecture Foundation, in partnership with the AIANY, awards seven grants and scholarships throughout the year for architecture students, student architectural journals, and practicing architects. The joint committee is co-chaired by Jill Lerner, FAIA, Chapter Representative, and Stanley Stark, FAIA, CFAF Representative. 2014 marks the first year for the Walter A. Hunt, Jr. Scholarship Award, to be given annually to a NYC public high school senior pursuing an academic career in an NAAB-accredited school of architecture within New York State. The announcement of this year’s recipient will be featured in an upcoming e-Oculus article.

The next upcoming grant is the LeBrun Travel Award founded to further the personal and professional development of an architect in early or mid-career through travel. Applicants must be U.S. citizens and practitioners in the field – either licensed or unlicensed. The application deadline is Monday, November 3, 2014 by 5:00pm EST.

Check out our website for more information here.

Sarah Cloonan is Program Manager at the Center for Architecture Foundation.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.