January 11, 2011
by Rebecca Parelman Center for Architecture Foundation

The Center for Architecture Foundation has announced the winners of the 2010 Stewardson Keefe LeBrun Travel Grant, which was established to further the personal and professional development of an architect in early or mid-career through travel.

Diane Davis-Sikora,
Owner/Designer of DDesign Studio and Assistant Professor at the College of Architecture and Environmental Design at Kent State University, received a grant for her project, “Revisiting Penumatic Architecture.” Davis-Sikora intends to gain a working knowledge of the state of structural and material capacities of air-supported membranes by traveling to various locations within Europe where pneumatic structures are a highly developed form of construction.

Fiyel Levent, Owner and Principal of Fiyel Levent Design in NYC, will survey the architectural heritage of the silk road for the project, “Echoes of Dialogue: The Genealogy of Central Asian Architecture.” Her travel itinerary will take her through the Ferghana Valley, which stretches among various countries including Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and Kyrgystan.

Stephanie Zurek, Assoc. AIA
, Architectural Designer and Project Manager at Donald Powers Architects in Providence, RI, with her project, “Exploring and Learning from Indonesian Kampungs,” will take a two-week trip through the Indonesian cities of Jakartha, Surabaya, and Yogyakarta. She will study the Indonesian Kampung, an efficient building type that can contribute to sustainable development, public space, and cultural diversity.

Note: The Arnold W. Brunner Grant deadline is fast approaching. This annual award funds a project that contributes to the knowledge, teaching, or practice of the art and science of architecture. The deadline is 02.01.11. Click the link for more information.