August 17, 2023

This year, the Center for Architecture, in partnership with AIA New York, has awarded $72,500 in academic scholarships to 10 students via the organizations’ Grants and Scholarships Program, a platform to make architecture education accessible to all and diversify research in architecture, while connecting students and emerging professionals to AIANY members and programs. In recent years, the Center for Architecture has expanded its program to provide even more scholarships to a broader range of students interested in pursuing the study of architecture.


Center for Architecture Design Scholarship

The Center for Architecture’s namesake scholarship, the Center for Architecture Design Scholarship, is offered to students seeking their first professional degree in architecture or a related design discipline from an accredited school in New York State. The dean or chair of the architectural school or accredited design program may invite up to two students from their respective college or university to apply based on their academic performance and evidence of financial need. The student’s financial need will be determined by the guidelines of the Financial Aid Officer of the school nominating the candidate.

In 2023, the Grants and Scholarships Committee awarded two merit-based scholarships totaling $5,000:

  • Farzana Hossain was awarded $2,500 in her fifth year of the B.Ach program at Cornell University. Her primary focus, as a staunch advocate for the environment, is developing designs that critically engage with the landscape, architecture, and its relationship to people within these built environments. Specifically, Farzana is focusing her research on the use of forest materials from waste to trees to understand a group’s dependency upon an ever-fluctuating landscape.
  • Jasper Townsend was awarded $2,500 as he enters his fourth year of the Cooper Union School of Architecture’s B.Arch program. Townsend’s portfolio demonstrates his exceptional ingenuity across all media in his design work. Jasper’s interests predominantly lie in improved spatial techniques, methods of representation, and improved utilization of materiality and foundational elements.

Allwork Scholarship

The Allwork Scholarship supports architecture students with demonstrated financial need seeking their first professional degree in architecture or a related design discipline from an accredited school in New York State. Students must be nominated by the dean or chair of the school of architecture in which they are currently studying in order to apply for this award.

In 2023, the Grants and Scholarships Committee awarded four merit-based scholarships totaling $20,000:

  • Catherine Chattergoon was awarded $5,000 towards her B.Arch degree with a Minors in Social Justice/Practice & Photography at Pratt University. With an interest in social and spatial equity, she is passionate about architecture as a social practice centered in community engagement and creative agency through design. She currently serves as a board member of The National Organization of Minority Architects, The American Institute of Architecture Students, and was the inaugural Student Advisor to the Dean at Pratt.
  • Ji Yong Chung was awarded $5,000 as a fourth-year architecture student at the Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture of the Cooper Union. He was born in Seoul, South Korea, and was raised moving back and forth from South Korea and Chin before moving to New York City. As such, he is interested in how architecture can provide meaningful experiences to people across borders and nations. His design interests predominantly lie in integrating finite detail, structural clarity, and clean compositions in projects regarding responsive architectural forms to their surrounding contexts.
  • Alec Harrigan was awarded $5,000 in the pursuit of a M.Arch at the University of Buffalo. Prior to this degree, he attended SUNY College of Technology at Alfred where he graduated summa cum laude with a B.Sc decree in Architectural Technology and a Minors in Construction Management & History. Harrigan’s involvement on campus is reflected through his roles as a member of the AIA Students, Vice President of the Graduate Student Association, and as a TA for first-year architecture studio. His professional passions are geared towards urban design and adaptive reuse in architecture practices.
  • Geri Roa Kim was awarded $5,000 towards her B.Arch degree at Pratt Institute. She has engaged significantly with the greater Pratt architectural community as
  • President of the school’s AIA Students chapter, coordinator of the AIA Lecture Series at Pratt, and assistant on several research projects. Geri’s portfolio demonstrates an excellent approach to architecture design and urbanism in response to one’s ever-changing landscape.

Walter A. Hunt, Jr. Scholarship:

The Walter A. Hunt, Jr. Scholarship was founded to promote and encourage the study of architecture by New York public high school students. The scholarship provides financial assistance to supplement tuition and related costs during a student’s freshman and sophomore years at a NAAB-accredited school of architecture in the U.S. The scholarship honors Hunt’s dedication to the field of architecture and architectural education.

After careful consideration of the highly competitive applications received, two applicants were selected to receive awards totaling $40,000:

  • Vasily Chumakov, a graduate of the High School of Art and Design, will begin the Bachelor of Architecture program at Cooper Union with $20,000 in tuition supporting his freshman and sophomore years.
  • Helena Uceda, a graduate of the Bronx High School of Science, will pursue the Bachelor of Architecture program at Cooper Union. She is aa recipient of a $20,000 award in tuition towards her freshman and sophomore years.

2030 Fund

The 2030 Fund provides student loan debt relief and licensure support for aspiring BIPOC architects pursuing licensure. The fund, created by 2021 AIANY President Kenneth A. Lewis, AIA, in collaboration with the New York Chapter of the National Organization of Minority Architects (nycoba|NOMA), seeks to support NOMA’s 2030 Challenge, which aims to double the number of licensed Black architects by the end of the decade. In 2023, its second year, the 2030 Fund awarded $7,500 in loan forgiveness to six recipients.

About Center for Architecture Grants and Scholarships The Center for Architecture, in partnership with AIANY, awards scholarships and grant awards throughout the year for architectural students, architectural student journals, and practicing architects. Scholarships are open to New York City and grants are open to applicants nationwide.

To find out more about our upcoming deadlines, please visit:

Scholarships were awarded by the following 2023 Committees:

Scholarship Committee: Allison B. Tomlinson, Esq., Gensler Andrea D. Lamberti, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Rafael Viñoly Architects Jennifer Sage, FAIA, LEED AP, Sage and Coombe Architects Nina Cooke-John, AIA, Studio Cooke John Sydney Maubert, Studio Maubert Eunjeong Seong, Pratt Institute Dr. Sharon E. Sutton, Parsons School of Design Peter Robinson, Cornell University Anthony Titus, Anthony Titus Studio Richard C. Yancey, FAIA, LEED AP, NCARB, Building Energy Exchange

Walter A. Hunt, Jr. Committee: Judy Hunt, wife of Walter Hunt Keith Frome Rosen, AIA Madeline Burke-Vigeland, FAIA, LEED AP, NCARB, Gensler Joshua Katz, AIA Ambrose Aliaga-Kelly, AIA, Gensler Leslie J. Jabs, AIA, CDT, Gensler

2030 Fund Selection Committee Venesa Alicea, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP, WELL AP, NYVARCH architecture Matthew Bremer, AIA, Architecture in Formation Andrea D. Lamberti, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Rafael Viñoly Architects Allison Lane, AIA, ASID, NOMA, AECOM Jesse Lazar, AIA New York and the Center for Architecture Kenneth A. Lewis, AIA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill Gregory T. Switzer, AIA, NOMA, NCARB, The Switzer Group