Group 7 Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Copy Created with Sketch.
March 7, 2018
by Center for Architecture
Marc Tsurumaki, AIA. Courtesy of LTL Architects.
Stella Betts and David Leven, FAIA. Courtesy of LEVENBETTS.
Claire Weisz, FAIA. Credit: Sioux Nesi

Try your luck at Guess-A-Sketch! This Friday, March 9, architects, architecture enthusiasts, and young professionals will gather at the Center for Architecture for an architecture-themed, pictionary-style tournament and support our K-12 education initiatives. NYC design industry professionals will sketch as competing teams and audience members guess to win.

Meet this year’s honoree sketchers:

Marc Tsurumaki, AIA, Principal, LTL Architects
Marc Tsurumaki is a principal at LTL Architects, a design-intensive architecture firm founded in 1997. LTL engages a diverse range of work, from large-scale academic and cultural buildings to interiors and speculative research projects. Tsurumaki received a Bachelor of Science in Architecture from the University of Virginia and a Master of Architecture from Princeton University. He is currently an Adjunct Associate Professor of Architecture at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation, and a visiting critic at Cornell College of Architecture, Art and Planning in NYC. Tsurumaki has served as a Trustee of the Van Alen Insitute, as a panelist for the New York State Council of the Arts for Architecture and Design, and is a General Services Administration National Peer. In 2016, LTL Architects published Manual of Section, which includes 63 intricately detailed cross-section perspective drawings of many of the most significant structures in international architecture from the last 100 years.

Claire Weisz, FAIA, Founding Principal, WXY
Claire Weisz is an architect and urbanist, and a founding principal of WXY, an award-winning, multidisciplinary practice specializing in the realization of urban design, planning and architectural solutions in challenging contexts. With her partners Mark Yoes, Layng Pew, and Adam Lubinsky, Weisz focuses on innovative approaches to public space, structures, and cities. WXY has received the League Prize from the Architectural League of New York, and was selected as one of the League’s Emerging Voices practices in 2011. Weisz will also be honored with the AIANY Medal of Honor at this year’s Honors and Awards Luncheon. With Andrea Woodner, Weisz co-founded The Design Trust for Public Space. She has recently been on faculty at New York University’s Wagner School of Public Service and a Visiting Critic of Urban Design at Cornell’s College of Architecture, Art and Planning in NYC. Weisz received her professional degree from The University of Toronto with Honors and her Master’s in Architecture from Yale University.

Stella Betts and David Leven, FAIA
Husband-and-wife architects Stella Betts and David Leven, FAIA, are partners at LEVENBETTS, s an award winning New York City-based architecture practice that focuses on design at all scales, from urban design to public architecture, houses and housing, commercial workspaces, exhibitions, and furniture.

Stella Betts received a Bachelor of Arts from Connecticut College and a Master of Architecture from Harvard University’s Graduate School for Design. She is currently an Adjunct Professor at the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. From 2006 to 2011 Betts was the Coordinator for the Graduate Thesis at Parsons the New School for Design. She serves on the Board of Directors of the Architectural League of New York.

David Leven received a Bachelor of Arts from Colgate University and a Master of Architecture from Yale University. He also studied at the Institute for Architecture and Urban Studies in New York. Leven is a full-time Professor at Parsons the New School for Design. From 2008 to 2011, he was the Director of the Graduate Architecture Program at Parsons. Leven is a licensed architect in New York and New Jersey.


Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.